After an almost hour long executive session, and then a meeting without much meat, the members of the board, President Ashley Montenegro, Dr. Michelle Diaz, Mike McMillan, Patrick Cohn and Eddie Flores chose a new superintendent from the four candidates who were interviewed on Saturday. You can read the interviews at and

Diaz made the motion to nominate William "Will" Hawkins from Hobbs as the new superintendent. After a brief pause, Montenegro seconded it, and the vote was unanimous.