Libertarian Leanings is a column by by Peter Burrows, who blogs at silvercityburro.com and can be reached at elburropete@gmail.com.

It does not necessarily reflect the opinions of the Grant County Beat.

Muslims hate dogs, but they LOVE little girls

 [Editor's Note: Some people may find this disturbing, but unfortunately, it is truth. See footnotes]

By Peter Burrows 8/23/22, elburropete@gmail.com - https://wordpress.com/home/silvercityburro.com

Muhammad, may he rot in Hell, once said the angel Gabriel wouldn't deliver a revelation to him because there was a dog in the house. Dogs thus became forbidden in Islam unless they were working dogs. In my unsubstantiated opinion, Muhammad was a petty little narcissist who resented the attention and affection given to a dog when he, Muhammad, was supposed to be the center of the universe.

Muhammad expressed his displeasure with dogs, and since he spoke for the eternal Allah, dogs suffer Muslim cruelty to this day. Recently, Robert Spencer reported in his Jihad Watch that Iranian officials raided a privately run dog shelter and killed 1700 dogs, much to the displeasure of the decent people running the shelter.(1) No matter, Muhammad rules now and forever. In fact, I'm surprised the people running the shelter weren't killed, too.

Read more ...

Muslim Duplicity

By Peter Burrows 7/29/22 elburropete@gmail.com - silvercityburro.com 

Never trust a Muslim. They will lie to you and pass a polygraph while doing it. This is because Muhammad, who spoke for Allah, said it was not a sin to lie during war, and Muslims are always at war with non-Muslims, in one form or another: 

Al-Jihad, (holy fighting) in Allah's cause (with full force of numbers and weaponry) is given the utmost importance in Islam and is one of its pillars (on which it stands). By Jihad Islam is established, Allah's Word is made superior (which means none has the right to be worshiped but Allah), and his religion, Islam, is propagated. - - Jihad is an obligatory duty in Islam on every Muslim. (1) 

Since jihad against unbelievers is an "obligatory duty," it is also obligatory to lie to the unbelievers if that helps the jihad. Here is what The Reliance of the Traveller (sic), "A Classic Manual of Islamic Sacred Law," says:  When it is possible to achieve (a praiseworthy) aim by lying but not by telling the truth it is permissible to lie if attaining the goal is permissible and obligatory to lie if the goal is obligatory. (My emphasis.) (2) 

Gas pump reality

By Peter Burrows 6/22/22 elburropete@gmail.com

I just took a quick look at Exxon Mobil's second quarter earnings. While Bernie Sanders and other morons rail on about the huge profits earned by the evil-dirty-bastard oil companies, the numbers show that America's biggest investor-owned oil company is about as profitable as the average electric utility.

Here we must distinguish between profits and profitability, a very important distinction that the average person should have some awareness of lest they be fooled by the Bernie Sanders of the world. Profits are in dollars; profitability is in percentages. For example, Exxon Mobile's 2Q profits were $8.8 billion, which is a helluva lot of money, but the annualized return on assets was only 10 percent.

That's about what Public Service of New Mexico, a regulated public utility, earns on assets.

Read more ...

Cold facts about coal

By Peter Burrows 6/10/22 elburropete@gmailcom

Back in 2012, New Mexico had four operating coal mines that produced 22.92 million tons of coal, most of it used to generate electricity. By 2020, that number had dropped to 10.25 million tons and by 2045, if not sooner, it will drop to zero.

Burning coal, you see, creates carbon dioxide, and carbon dioxide creates climate change, and climate change is an existential threat to all of humanity. New Mexico, doing its part to prevent such a calamity, passed a law in 2019, The Energy Transition Act (ETA), phasing out the use of coal, or any fossil fuel, to generate electricity in the state.

Electricity instead is to be generated by renewable energy, which in New Mexico means photovoltaic solar panels and wind turbines, backed up by batteries: 50% by 2030, 80% by 2040 and 100% by 2045. New Mexico's political and environmental leaders were ecstatic:

Read more ...

Islam and the American Civil Liberties Union

 By Peter Burrows elburropete@gmail.com 4/2/22

The ACLU has a proud history. It was formed in 1920 from groups that had opposed Woodrow Wilson's extensive violations of the constitution during WW I. Anybody who thinks an Adolf Hitler couldn't happen here doesn't know how close we came with Woodrow Wilson. (1)

In the Scopes "Monkey Trial" of 1925, the new ACLU established its First Amendment, free speech bona fides by supporting Clarence Darrow in his defense of the school teacher who taught evolution, a hot issue back then. The ACLU backed the NAACP in another hot issue in 1954 when the Supreme Court found school segregation unconstitutional in Brown v Board of Education. Perhaps the ACLU's most famous case was in 1977 when a Nazi organization requested their help to get a permit to parade in the heavily Jewish city of Skokie, IL. A Jewish lawyer at the ACLU took the case and prevailed!

Read more ...

Monsters from the Id, revised for 2022

By Peter Burrows  elburropete.com

This was posted in 2014, but it's still relevant, which is a damn shame.

(Monsters From the Id 2/25/14 (Note to readers: This was written when we first began negotiating with the Iranians to prevent, or at least delay, their development of nuclear weapons. As this pamphlet is being printed in 2022, a new round of nuclear negotiations is underway and Iran is still ruled by Shias. Unfortunately, our leaders are still unaware of the inherent threat nuclear-armed Mahdis pose.)

I read recently that scientists in England are having success improving some peoples' mathematical abilities by using mild electrical stimulation to their brains. This reminded me of a classic sci-fi film from 1956, "Forbidden Planet."

The plot, in brief, has a space ship landing on a planet inhabited by only two people who arrived there sometime in the past, a mad scientist and his really ugly daughter. (Sure.) He tells the new arrivals that the planet was once occupied by an advanced species that totally and mysteriously disappeared.

Read more ...

Would the world be better off with no Jews, or with no Muslims?

By Peter Burrows 3/8/22 elburropete@gmail.com

In the Koran, which is the eternal and infallible word of God, we are told that Jews and Christians are "the worst of creatures." God then tells us that Muslims are the "best of creatures." Elsewhere in the Koran, God clarifies that Muslims are not just the best relative to Jews and Christians, but that Muslims are "the best of people ever raised up for mankind."

God also tells us that between Jews and Christians, it is the Jews who are "the most hostile" to Muslims while Christians "are closest to feeling affection" for Muslims. Thus, of the two "worst of creatures," God leaves no doubt that the worst of the worst are the Jews.

These revelations, some 1400 years ago, came at the beginning of Islam while Judaism had been around for hundreds of years. The Jews obviously far outnumbered the Muslims then, but Muslims are fierce proselytizers, and in only a decade or two they outnumbered the Jews, who are anything but fierce proselytizers. Today, the world population of Muslims is about 1.8 billion and the Jews only about 15.2 million, a ratio of over 100 to one.

Read more ...

White math and the NFL

White math and the NFL By Peter Burrows elburropete@gmail.com 2/21/22

My wife and I stopped watching professional football when they began playing a "black" national anthem before the games. That didn't last long. Having spent many years in Wisconsin, we both suffer from Packerism, which is incurable, and we were soon watching the games again.

I'm glad we did. The playoffs were terrific and an added bonus was seeing all those Covid-conscious fans wearing one or even two Fauci mandated masks. (Sarcasm, libs, sarcasm.) Also, the NFL is proof that all the rhetoric about "white privilege" and "systemic racism" against black Americans is just nonsense.

I'm excluding the systemic reverse racism inherent in programs such as affirmative action and, especially, the dumbing down of academics so that more black kids can get "passing" grades. All the kids, black and white, know just what that means, and if that would have been tried in my high school, the black kids would have kicked your honkey ass. Of course, back then I don't think 'honkey' was a word. It would have been your "white trash" ass that would have been kicked.

Read more ...

Content on the Beat

WARNING: All articles and photos with a byline or photo credit are copyrighted to the author or photographer. You may not use any information found within the articles without asking permission AND giving attribution to the source. Photos can be requested and may incur a nominal fee for use personally or commercially.

Disclaimer: If you find errors in articles not written by the Beat team but sent to us from other content providers, please contact the writer, not the Beat. For example, obituaries are always provided by the funeral home or a family member. We can fix errors, but please give details on where the error is so we can find it. News releases from government and non-profit entities are posted generally without change, except for legal notices, which incur a small charge.

NOTE: If an article does not have a byline, it was written by someone not affiliated with the Beat and then sent to the Beat for posting.

Images: We have received complaints about large images blocking parts of other articles. If you encounter this problem, click on the title of the article you want to read and it will take you to that article's page, which shows only that article without any intruders. 

New Columnists: The Beat continues to bring you new columnists. And check out the old faithfuls who continue to provide content.

Newsletter: If you opt in to the Join GCB Three Times Weekly Updates option above this to the right, you will be subscribed to email notifications with links to recently posted articles.

Submitting to the Beat

Those new to providing news releases to the Beat are asked to please check out submission guidelines at https://www.grantcountybeat.com/about/submissions. They are for your information to make life easier on the readers, as well as for the editor.

Advertising: Don't forget to tell advertisers that you saw their ads on the Beat.

Classifieds: We have changed Classifieds to a cheaper and shorter option. Check periodically to see if any new ones have popped up. The former software failed us, so it's just a category now, with prices posted. Send your information to editor@grantcountybeat.com and we will post it as soon as we can. Instructions and prices are on the page.

Editor's Notes

It has come to this editor's attention that people are sending information to the Grant County Beat Facebook page. Please be aware that the editor does not regularly monitor the page. If you have items you want to send to the editor, please send them to editor@grantcountybeat.com. Thanks!

Here for YOU: Consider the Beat your DAILY newspaper for up-to-date information about Grant County. It's at your fingertips! One Click to Local News. Thanks for your support for and your readership of Grant County's online news source—www.grantcountybeat.com

Feel free to notify editor@grantcountybeat.com if you notice any technical problems on the site. Your convenience is my desire for the Beat.  The Beat totally appreciates its readers and subscribers!  

Compliance: Because you are an esteemed member of The Grant County Beat readership, be assured that we at the Beat continue to do everything we can to be in full compliance with GDPR and pertinent US law, so that the information you have chosen to give to us cannot be compromised.