facebook-24x24

Libertarian Leanings

Libertarian Leanings is a column by by Peter Burrows, who blogs at silvercityburro.com and can be reached at elburropete@gmail.com.

It does not necessarily reflect the opinions of the Grant County Beat.

By Peter Burrows 11/5/19 - elburropete@gmail.com - silvercityburro.com

“When I use a word,' Humpty Dumpty said in rather a scornful tone, 'it means just what I choose it to mean, neither more nor less.’ - 'The question is,' said Alice, whether you can make words mean so many different things.’ - 'The question is,' said Humpty Dumpty, 'which is to be master, that's all.” (From ‘Alice Through the Looking Glass’ by Lewis Carroll.)

In part Two, I wrote about the Humpy Dumpty world of gender identity, a surreal world of so many genders that an old guy like myself is reminded of tennis great John McEnroe, who would look at the line judge and scream, “You can not be serious!”

Five years ago, Facebook identified 58 different genders and somebody recently upped the number to 72. Gee, 70 more than I thought there were. Shows how “unwoke” I am. Furthermore, this nonsense is becoming a problem in the real world.

By Peter Burrows 11/3/19 - elburropete@gmail.com - silvercityburro.com

“When I use a word,' Humpty Dumpty said in rather a scornful tone, 'it means just what I choose it to mean — neither more nor less.’ From ‘Alice Through the Looking Glass,’ by Lewis Carroll

If a boy wants to be a girl and then declares he is a girl, does that make him a girl? Conversely, if a girl says she is henceforth a boy, does that make her a boy?

Some of you are thinking, “Stupid questions! Burro is off his meds again.”

By Peter Burrows – 10/29/19 - elburropete@msn.com - silvercityburro.com

In Lewis Carroll’s Alice Through the Looking Glass, Alice and Humpty Dumpty have the following exchange:

“When I use a word,' Humpty Dumpty said in rather a scornful tone, 'it means just what I choose it to mean — neither more nor less.’

'The question is,' said Alice, whether you can make words mean so many different things.’

'The question is,' said Humpty Dumpty, 'which is to be master — that's all.”

I always think of good old Humpty whenever I hear a Democrat talk about taking “assault rifles” off the street. Beto O’Rourke, for example, was bursting with self-righteous fervor when he recently said, "Hell, yes, we're going to take your AR-15, your AK-47."

By Peter Burrows, 10/21/19 elburropete@gmail.com - www.silvercityburro.com 

“Extraordinary Popular Delusions and the Madness of Crowds,” published way back in 1841, is a classic book on crowd psychology, still in print today. Here is a blurb from a review found on www.Amazon.com :

"Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one..." Extraordinary Popular Delusions and the Madness of Crowds is the original guide to behavioural psychology - and how manias, follies and superstitions begin, spread and (eventually) pass. ---the book is as insightful and memorable today as when it was first published almost 180 years ago.

Some of the popular follies of the day were trivial, such as fortune telling, some tragic, such as believing in witches and then burning them at the stake. You’re probably thinking that we aren’t nearly so gullible today. Not only are we more educated, we have access to the Internet for in-depth information on virtually any topic.

Who you gonna believe, Al Gore or your lying thermometer? by Peter Burrows 9/14/19 - elburropete@gmail.com - www.silvercityburro.com 

Recently, CNN hosted a marathon seven-hour Town Hall discussion of climate change featuring ten Democrats running for president. All of them are true believers in catastrophic climate change, and all of them propose draconian solutions to solve problems that are, so far, simply nonexistent. (For one example, see “Zillow’s White House Crony,” 7/28/19, silvercityburro.com)

The timing of this spectacle was propitious. Less than a week before, on August 31, Michael Moore premiered his latest documentary, Planet of the Humans, which – surprisingly—dramatizes the futility and destructiveness of wind, solar and biomass as sources of energy. (See “Michael Moore gets unstuck on stupid,” 9/2/19, silvercityburro.com)

 By Peter Burrows 9/2/19 – elburropete@gmail.com - silvercityburro.com -

Michael Moore’s new documentary, Planet of the Humans, is getting rave reviews. One headline hailed it as, “Possibly Most Bracing Environmental Documentary Ever Made.” The review goes on to say that all other recent environmental documentaries, including Al Gore’s An Inconvenient Truth, “pale in importance to Planet of the Humans.”

Another review said the film “is a low-budget but piercing examination of what the filmmakers say are the false promises of the environmental movement and why we’re still ‘addicted’ to fossil fuels.” The review quotes the director of the film saying, “It was kind of crushing to discover the things I believed in weren’t real, and then to discover not only are solar panels and wind turbines not going to save us, it dawned on me that these technologies were just another profit center.”

By Peter Burrows 8/20/19 elburropete@gmail.com Blog: silvercityburro.com

Synthetic heroin is becoming the equivalent of a weapon of mass destruction. Efforts to stop its spread have been pathetic. War on drugs? More like a pillow-fight on drugs.

While drug overdose deaths recently dropped below an annual rate of 70,000 for the first time in two years, that doesn’t mean the war on drugs is starting to be won. It just means the frontline casualties have gone down a bit. After all, OD deaths were “only” 36,000 in 2010.

 By Peter Burrows 8/10/19 elburropete@gmail.com silvercityburro.com (Note: George Richards, a Las Cruces concealed carry instructor, is the expert referred to in this article. He can be reached at 575 373 5557.)

Texas just passed a law removing the cap on the number of school employees who can carry firearms in the school districts that allow armed personnel. This common-sense move means kids in those Texas schools have a helluva lot more protection from gun-wielding maniacs than do kids in New Mexico schools, where, essentially, no guns are allowed on campus.

Maybe that’s one reason the recent El Paso massacre was at a Walmart and not at a school. Maniacs are crazy, not stupid.

Live from Silver City

Join GCB Three Times Weekly Updates

Welcome to Three Times Weekly Updates! You will be subscribed to email notifications with links to recently posted articles.
captcha 
You can unsubscribe anytime. We never share or rent your email to anyone.

Fire Alerts

20191110